top of page
revised author pic (2)_edited.jpg

John S. McFarland's short stories have appeared in numerous journals, in both the mainstream and horror genres. His tales have been collected with stories by Stephen King, H.P. Lovecraft, Robert Bloch, and Richard Matheson. His work has been praised by such writers as T.E.D. Klein and Phillip Fracassi, and he has been called "A great, undiscovered voice in horror fiction." McFarland's story collection, "The Dark Walk Forward", was published in 2020 by Dark Owl Publishing and contains stories connected to the small town of Ste. Odile. His young reader series about Bigfoot, "Annette: A Big, Hairy Mom", is in print in three languages. The sequel to "The Black Garden", "The Mother of Centuries", is coming from Dark Owl Publishing in 2022.

Listen to "The Little Dead Thing" and "Mal Ardents" on Shelby Scott's Podcast Scare You to Sleep: Podcast | Scare You To Sleep

business card image.jpg

John S. McFarland


bottom of page